Sometimes, Just Sometimes – Poem

Sometimes, just sometimes, I want to close my eyes as I cycle home,
To see where the wind takes me.
Sometimes, just sometimes, I see a woman with life growing within her,
And I feel so enraged that I want to tear it from her.
Sometimes, just sometimes, I see evidence that someone is a parent,
And I want to scream and cry until they all vanish.
Sometimes, just sometimes, I question how children can be left alone,
To be taken into care where they find love.
Sometimes, just sometimes, I want to stay in bed for the rest of time,
Until my back is covered in bed sores.
Sometimes, just sometimes, I wait for a summer’s thunder storm,
To dance and become drenched, spinning around.
Sometimes, just sometimes, I think that I worry too much for my age,
That I should look younger in my fresh face.
Sometimes, just sometimes, I think that I can love them too much,
Because one day they will scratch my heart.
Sometimes, just sometimes, I don’t want to exist anymore,
To vanish from thoughts and memories.
Sometimes, just sometimes, I walk home with my bike,
Avoiding any orangey-red temptation.

© Persephone M May 26th 2011

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

