CD33 – The Testing Time

So I haven’t done an update in a while and its annoying in retrospect because, apparently, the IUI worked!

Day 28 (14dpo) came and went with me having suffered from extreme anger and odd tummy twinges including “ovulation” pain which did have me a bit concerned. So I googled it because I really could not figure out why I’d be getting pain where the hCG hurt so was clearly my ovaries. Until google revealed that I still have a corpus luteum in there.

And I potentially have 3 or more.

In that week from day 21 to 28 where I did start noticing being hot, I did have severe anger issues and an easy ability to cry I was still convincing myself that it was simply the 3 follicles worth of progesterone. On day 28 my bbt even dropped.

But I didn’t break down at it. Nor did I get hopeful over the increase in symptoms. For the first time ever really I kept my logical hat on knowing that it could be pregnancy or from the treament.

I honestly don’t know how I did it. But I also ignored how tired I was and how for a number of nights in a row I had a nap and still went to bed early.

I think it was the night of the 28th or 29th day that I noticed my need to pee at night and the odd pain in my tummy and back which also weren’t helping me sleep.

Day 29 (15dpo) I got so hot and bothered at work I walked out early, tired and needing a nap. It was when hubby got home that he made me take a test. He said it would better to know on the pm rather than am of 16dpo.

I took a test and didn’t really believe it. Although I knew it was correct. I knew I was pregnant. Not from the moment of conception or anything just because I knew it was all far too different. But I had remained logical because of the treatment and then remained calm because there’s a long way to go.

Day 30 (16dpo) I took another test in the am because the fertility center had advised to not test before 16. I had a problem peeing but still got a positive (and I still have 4 tests waiting to be used!). That morning I rang the center and got a scan booked in for less than 3 weeks.

The nurse was so excited for me, the few people I told at work are so excited for me but I just feel cautious. I’ve waited 3 years for this and I don’t want to count my flowers before they bloom (not a fan of poultry).

Day 31 and by the pm my symptoms had gone. I wasn’t as tired. My boobs were not as sore. I didn’t feel as hot and my skin wasn’t bright red. But I’d had the aircon on at work. Oh and I went the whole night without needing to pee. I got worried.

Day 32 and I was getting random tummy and back pains again – apparently normal as my body has started adapting and so I feel a bit happier. I decided that I needed to buy a book. I don’t want to get ahead of myself and become too invested when it’s early days but I need to know what’s normal!

I woke up just after midnight last night so technically today and day 33, with mild uterine cramps. Of all the random pains I’ve had in the past week, uterine based cramps haven’t been included. Over the space of 8 hours I had them 3 times and whilst mild compared to menstrual they didn’t feel that mild. So I woke hubby up and he tried to calm me. He did suggest that maybe it’s growing (which according to the book I just bought it probably is) but that just seems too weird to me.

It seems weird that it’s so early but already my body’s adapting. That it’s already growing. There’s 8 more months left!

But I have my “how many babies” scan in just over 2 weeks and the book I just bought to keep me calm, logical and not too pessimistic.

I just simply can’t believe that it worked first time (if you don’t include the three years!) and that it’s all going to be fine. In fact, I outright refuse to believe that it’s not going to be fine.

~ Persephone M

  1. then, i can say:

    Woooooooooooo hooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I am so happy for you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    11 weeks to go! get that hospital bag ready 🙂

    • That will be my plan for this weekend. And thank you! I still don’t quite believe it all… X

  2. Cryptic!

    that is what your blog is ! 🙂

    I just read this post and wanted to yell: Woo hooo! I was so happy for you, and then i read the post with your beautiful bump pic … and it left me wondering, because “this blog is about the TTC journey” …

    So now I am …. what ? how to describe it ? … cautiously happy for you?

    This is like having to worry and stress for my ttc journey and yours! arghhh!

    Cryptic!

    😉 I am very happy with this post though.

    • It’s because the TTC journey was posted in retrospect; I’d planned on waiting until the 3 month mark and then posting all the blogs, but somehow I ended up waiting until the 6 month mark. The 3 year TTC journey culminated in IUI, which worked first time and I am now just 11 weeks away from my Due Date. So, I MTC (managed to conceive) 🙂

  1. February 19th, 2013

Leave a Reply

