My IUI Scans

On my first IUI journey, my blog has so far reached Cycle Day 15. The next post is CD20 and then it skips to the end of the dreaded 2WW. Before we get onto those last 2 entries, I wanted to share my IUI scans.

Whilst giving myself the injections, I had to be scanned every Monday, Wednesday and Thursday by internal ultrasound to check how many eggs were growing in each ovary. Too many eggs, and the dose would need to be cut. Too few, and the dose would be increased.

The images are from days 7 and 9 of the cycle (I seem to have lost the images from CD11 and there were no more after that). The scans also check your lining to make sure it’s thick enough for implantation, but they don’t give you images.

I remember thinking, when the nurse gave me these images, that if the IUI works these would be images of my part of them. One of these eggs measured could become my DNA half of a child. It’s an amazing thought.

CD7 One Egg CD7 One Egg CD9 One Egg CD9 One egg CD9 One Egg CD9 Two Eggs, One Measured CD9 Two Eggs One MeasuredThe first two scans are CD7, the rest CD9 and the final two scans are of the same two eggs, but different ones being measured – they need to be a certain size before they will ovulate. I guess to be technically accurate what is being measured and can be seen is the follicle, inside which is the egg. The eggs are not themselves as big as these show.

~ Persephone M

  1. Depending on your particular fertility problem, you may need to use fertility drugs alongside your IUI treatment. If you do take fertility drugs it’s called a stimulated cycle, because the drugs stimulate ovulation. If drugs are not used it’s called an unstimulated cycle, or natural cycle.

  1. February 19th, 2013

Leave a Reply

