Ten Day Challenge – Four Books

After Ten Secrets, Nine Loves, Eight Fears, Seven Wants, Six Places, Five Foods, this is four books.

I’m going to give my top four books but to avoid simply putting my favourite four Harry Potter books, it’s only one by any author.

My fourth favourite is by Mark Giminez – The Colour of Law. I’d never read anything by Giminez nor a legal type book when I got this book for free and I really doubted that I’d like it. I was so wrong, I loved it! Maybe only because I’m new to that genre, but I had no idea how A. Scott was going to get away with it. I had no idea who had killed the murder victim. And the solution had been staring me in the face. D’oh. I’ve read the sequel and liked it, but haven’t loved some of his other books.

At number three it has to be Six Sacred Stones by Matthew Reilly. It’s the second in currently a trilogy (after Seven Ancient Wonders and before Five Greatest Warriors). It’s written in the same style as the other two and follows the amazing Jack West Jr. These books are like action films written down. Sentences end mid-way, chapters have cliffhangars and end as a scene on the screen would. There are explosions, there are deaths of “main cast”. Fantastic reads. I give this one as my favourite of the three (and I love Reilly’s Shane Schofield novels, too) simply for the cliffhangar which I read on holiday without internet access and had no idea if there was going to be a 5th.

At number two, I’m going to be controversial and put Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. I guess controversial because other HPs are put above DH and because it’s not at my number one slot! I love DH because it’s the culmination of the series, because it has all the pay offs, because it’s so intelligent and planned. Hello? The 3 deathly hallows have been there from when, book freaking one? That’s planning. I happened to read all of the books in one summer so it wasn’t like the culmination of years for me, but it was the ending to so many characters that I had read “grow up”. It’s also the best one for making me cry. As for why it’s not at number one, it’s all told from Harry’s POV and I don’t always like being stuck in one person’s head.

A book (series) that doesn’t stick with one head and makes it to my number one is A Song of Ice and Fire: A Feast For Crows. The 4th in currently 5 (I have yet to read the 5th) of a fantasy series that was the first fantasy series I have ever read. I fell in love with the new HBO show first, but quickly consumed the first four books. It’s probably a cop out with me picking the most recent I’ve read, but I can’t say for definate exactly what happens in each book. I’m also hindered because I have books 3 and 5 as two parters. Book one, I found boring to the reason that I had literally just watched it and the show is so true to the books, it was difficult to read. I found book two difficult to begin with because it introduced all of these new characters that I was suddenly supposed to be invested in. But then I got into it and ploughed straight into the third (first part). Until I read an unfortunate spoiler and didn’t want to read any further. The second half of book 3 was fantastic, I read it in a few days.

The reason for book 4 though (and not just because it’s the most recent), is quite simply that it followed only half-ish the main characters of books 1-3 and they weren’t my favourite characters. I started book four and realised at some point that I hadn’t seen anything of my faves, then realised I was over half way through it. The fact that George RR Martin got me over half way through a book with none of my favourite, most loved characters is out standing. He took characters that had been there all along, but had never been point of view, and made you understand them. I’m only holding out on the 5th because I don’t want the ride to stop yet and there’s no publication date for book 6 yet.

Next up: Three Films

~ Persephone M

  1. Feast for crows is the slowest book in the series i think. I found myself getting bored because my favs were not in it.

    • Loads of people have said that to me, but I loved it! In fact, I think my favourites changed! I may have become a Sansa convert. I think it also had some of the biggest revelations, for me, so really stands out.

      • I actually liked Sansa from the 2nd book. But Feast for Crows has actually made me understand Jaime better.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

