Before Now, I had Never…

This is going to be just a quick blog post because I want to go and lie back down!

Yesterday I had an appointment for day surgery to have a “simple” laparoscopy to check for scarring as a hinderance to trying to conceive. Unfortunately the letter gave me the completely wrong information and it was a lot later on in the day than the letter said, so I had to stay overnight.

It all went okay, except at first the nurses wouldn’t let me sleep because my BP was too low (which was after one nurse questioned my low pulse rate – I’m a cycler) and then the old lady in the bed next to me who snored really, really, really loudly – I’m the girl who kicks her husband out of bed for breathing too loudly!

They discharged me this morning and they said that I look fine internally. As such, there are no more tests to run. And no answers. It might sound a bit perverse, but I kind of wanted one of the tests to show there was something wrong. If there’s something wrong, it means there’s a reason and potentially a solution instead of just… unexplainable, keep waiting. Don’t get me wrong, I’m glad there’s nothing wrong. I could only imagine how devestating it would be. The results are the better option, but I’m still in an unknown land.

I’ve never stayed overnight in hospital. I’ve never gone 24 hours without eating. I’ve never been scared to cough or sneeze. Walking into surgery, I’d never felt so alone.

~ Persephone M

  1. I can imagine how you feel. I’ve never been in a hospital for any overnight surgery and I would be so frightened in the first place. I often wondered if I should have that surgery. I don’t have any symptoms of endometriosis but what if it’s in there hiding somewhere? I’m pretty much unexplained and I don’t know if that is really a blessing in disguise or not.

    • For me, it was the combined shock of “proper” surgery (a first) with not knowing I was going to stay overnight when I arrived. I was completely unprepared. I’ve no idea of the next step, but have to look at the bright side of – there’s nothing wrong with me. Perhaps it just isn’t my time yet! I’m glad I’m not the only one who’s unsure if its a blessing or not!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

