And So the Nightmare Continues

After yesterday’s post on the oddness and horrors my tenants have left my flat in, I wasn’t going to do another post about it this soon.

In all honesty, with my spineless, stupid rental company the next blog on the subject was probably going to be about them.

My husband’s just rung as he’s arrived at the flat. He has early morning appointments with builders tomorrow regarding the bathroom so needed to stay the night before. He is not happy.

Two weeks into their tenancy, the tenants complained that the toilet seat was broken, the shower head broken, the shower broken and the bath was leaking. Husband replaced the toilet seat and shower head. He saw the extent of the bathroom damage from previous tenants and refused to fix it as it was going to be a huge building job and would be easier without tenants. Of course, they’d signed a 6 month contract so we offered them to leave early at no penalty.

They wanted to stay.

They honestly didn’t seem to care that the bath had leaked so badly under the previous tenants that the bedroom wall was/is mouldy.

I wanted them out.

The mould had been hidden by previous tenants and the rental agency were so intent on getting their money and shoving some unsuspecting new tenant in that they ignored all of my husband’s emails requesting access to fix other problems they’d told us about.

Now, perhaps the tenants saw the fact that we weren’t doing anything about the bathroom, the bedroom and the broken shower as a sign that we didn’t care about the property, giving them free reign to leave me with full bins, dirty bins, a blocked toilet and a broken door lock.

Or perhaps the mould spores sent them mad.

Anyway, the disgusting mould and surrounding problems are a different topic. What makes no sense is why, in August, husband fitted a new toilet seat and yet he arrives there tonight and it’s not the one we fitted. Did they really manage to break two toilet seats in less than six months? What the hell have they been doing on the toilet?

Meanwhile, when I visited yesterday, the second door lock had not been locked by the check out operator. I rang immediately and complained on the pure fact that they had failed to secure my flat. However, when I went to leave I, too, could not lock the second lock. And so raises the question, why was I not informed on Friday? That property was left unsecured over night by a member of the rental company I pay. I had informed the agency that I was visiting the property and collecting the keys.

Not me and my husband.

Not my husband.

Me. A girl.

Not only did they leave the flat unsecure, they left it unsecure for a lone female to walk into.

As it happens, husband dearest has fixed the lock (but he can’t fix the blocked toilet). He says it looks like someone jammed something in there. Okay, so when did someone attempt (or manage) to break into the flat? Are they going to try again?

Perhaps the mould made them forget their keys.

Husband also noticed that the entire heating system (including boiler) had been turned off. Right in time for the forecasted snow. I am furious and can feel my own damn blood boiling hot enough to heat the flat. As of checkout, a gas reading is taken. If, as a bitter, mould-poisoned, tenant you really want to get one over on the landlord turn the heating up full whack and leave the next tenant or landlord to have to pay. Don’t hope the pipes freeze because if it happens within the two week window, you’ll lose your deposit. Idiots.

Oh, and leaving a toilet blocked won’t hurt the landlord either (although I really hope husband doesn’t need to pee tonight), but the plumber costs will come out of your deposit. Fools.

Why did I chose to do this?

~Persephone M

  1. :-O That’s pretty shocking! What a nightmare! And it doesn’t sound like the letting agency are, umm, doing their job. (Sadly I’m not entirely surprised there … speaking purely as a tenant, I’ve yet to have a good experience with lettings agencies.)

    • I’ve had nothing but problems with this letting agent. My original concern was simply who leaves that much stuff behind? I’m now eagerly awaiting a call today where I will vent and shout!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

