Failing Princess – New Poem

In the end I can only be me,
Nothing else but me.
Always overlooked, always second,
Definitely never first to them.
Even though I try to smile,
Quietly hiding the shame they force,
Underneath I understand,
All I am is beneath average.
They all surpass me,
Eclipsing me without effort.

I don’t have anything in common,
Nothing with which to share.
And yet I’m forced to suffer,
Deep humiliation, high depression.
Everyone knows each other,
Queens of their own domain.
Utilising my only strengths,
And failing as a Princess,
There are too many Queens in this ‘dom,
Enough for little old me.

© Persephone M September 3rd 2011

  1. July 19th, 2014

Leave a Reply

