Substitute – Poem

Apparently I have a voice,
In this impossible choice,
To put another one first,
And make either place worse.
This is my best chance,
To be forgotten with a glance,
To give away part of my heart,
And rip my seams apart.
I could sleep all through the night,
With not even an echo of a fight,
I could silence the screams,
And have uninterrupted dreams.
Except all they would do is scare,
Bolts of pain will hit like a flare,
The heart with a missing hole,
There’s not enough blood for the toll.
To be valiant and to be brave,
Or give in to what I crave,
To put another above me,
So in their future they can be free.
Or remain true to my selfish roots,
Shielding myself from the new shoots,
That mock me from their heights,
As my dreams fail to take flight.
Should things remain or drastically change,
Wallowing in a self-pity far out of range,
And can I risk losing my buffer,
All for a civilised supper?
Which decision is for the best?
To keep me on a par with the rest?
Or to grant prospects to another?
And keep waiting, with the need to smother.

© PersephoneM 2nd November 2011

  1. Great post today thanks. I enjoyed reading it very much.

    Feel Free to Share this wonderful poem with everyone:

    – A River of Time –

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

